Category: Riau islands

The Riau Islands (Indonesian: Kepulauan Riau) is a province of Indonesia. It comprises a total of 1,796 islands scattered between the Malay Peninsula, Sumatra, and Borneo. Situated on one of the world\'s busiest shipping lanes along the Malacca Strait and the South China Sea, the province shares water borders with neighboring countries such as Singapore, Malaysia, and Vietnam. The Riau Islands also has a relatively large potential of mineral resources, energy, as well as marine resources. The capital of the province is Tanjung Pinang and the largest city is Batam.

Barelang I Bridge from the Riau Archipelago
Barelang I Bridge from the Riau Archipelago – Batam, besides being popular as an industrial city, this city also has a tourist charm that is no less interesting than other cities in Indonesia. One of the attractions that you can find while visiting Batam is the Barelang Bridge. The name Barelang Bridge comes from the abbreviation BAtam, REmpang, and GAlang. This […]

Back to top